top of page

Baking A Cranberry Pear Pie

After successfully baking pumpkin pies two years in a row for Thanksgiving, I decided it was time to find a pie for Christmas. Unfortunately there are no pies that scream Christmas to me. Eventually after a pretty thorough Pinterest search, I finally found a pie that felt like Christmas and also sounded delicious to Mike.

The Recipe

Cranberry Pear Pie

Supplies Needed:

  • Basic Baking Supplies

  • See Recipe for Full Ingredient List

Results

Unlike the pumpkin pies I made for Thanksgiving, creating this pie became a family affair. I think this is because I didn't do most of the work in the stand mixer. I however kept the kids away, as best I could, while I was reducing the pear juice.

The rest, however, Blue decided to help me out with. I let him mix the dry ingredients while, I worked on chopping up the pears.

Once I was done mixing the fruit and wet ingredients, Blue helped me mix in the dry ingredients.

And then finally he helped me put the crust on top.

(I currently don't own a pie plate, so I just used the Pillsbury frozen pie crusts. So unfortunately I didn't create the braided top like shown in the recipe. Maybe I'll try that next year).

After Blue made sure my crust was on securely, I egg washed the top and placed it in the oven.

Sometime during the baking, all the juices erupted out of my pie. Luckily I had a cookie sheet underneath to catch it.

Leaky pie aside, it still tastes really good.

(I'm not a big fan of cooked fruit pies, but Mike loved it so much I had to make him another one!)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page