top of page

Making a Angel Strawberry Bavarian Cake

This funny thing happened a couple of months ago. Mike, who loves angel food cake, bought a box of angel food cake mix. I waited a while to see if he was going to make it. He didn't. I eventually made it. As I was making it, I noticed that on the back there was a recipe for Angel Strawberry Bavarian Cake. It looked good and since my birthday was coming up next, I decided to save it for my birthday cake!

The Recipe

Angel Strawberry Bavarian Cake

Recipe From Duncan Hines

Supplies Needed:

Results

The recipe is simply enough to follow. My only problem with it is that ever step takes a while to complete. I decided the best place to start was to defrost the frozen strawberries. Some where the recipe calls for 10 oz of frozen strawberries, but I just used my big measuring cup to measure out 4 cups. (I stupidly thought this amount would yield enough strawberry juice.)

I then poured them into a colander and hoped the juice would drip into the measuring cup.

While the strawberries were defrosting, I baked the angel food cake. I may have let it bake for longer than I should have because it ended up a little brown around the edges

(and parts sank in as I was cutting it out)

As that was cooling, I decided to give the strawberries a little help making juice, so I poured a little cool water over the top. It helped... a little... and eventually I was able to get 1 cup of strawberry juice water.

This meant I could finally make the jello!

Making Jello is super easy and needs no explanation. The only issue I had was no knowing exactly how long to keep it in the refrigerator for. I took a guess and decided to take it out at about two hours later. (This would give me enough time to make dinner and cube the cake in the mean time!)

Apparently Lion's inner timer was synced with the jello because he found the cool whip just in time to start mixing it with the jello.

I wasn't quite sure if the jello had set enough, but I just decided to go with it and I put my stand mixer on high.

Once it looked whipped enough I folded in the cool whip scoop by scoop. Once I was happy with the results I began building my cake.

I went free hand with the layers and eventually I filled my cake pan up.

I let it set overnight and most of the next morning. By that afternoon, I pulled it out and set it on a cake stand.

I kept hoping it would warm up enough that I would be able to pull the cake pan off, but that never happened. Eventually I wrapped the cake pan with hot wet towels and after a couple of wraps, I was able to wiggle my cake free.

Here's how it turned out!

And here's the inside!

Its definitely worth all the work it put me through!

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page