top of page

Crocheting A Basic Beard Beanie

I'm really excited that its December because that means I can finally start sharing my big winter crochet series! Since the weather is supposed to be cooling down (every where, but Florida it seems!), I decided to try out crocheting hats for everybody!

First up, I created the following hat for Blue. I went with this hat first because its a simple hat pattern and it has a beard attached. I've always wanted to learn how to make a beard hat!

The Project

Crochet Lumberjack Hat

Instructions from Joann.com

Supplies Needed

Results

For my hat yarn I decided to go with Big Twist Sincerely Yarn in Blue Confetti. I just liked the way it looked in the skein and I thought it would create a really interesting color combination when crocheted into a hat. It is slightly smaller than the recommended yarn, I had to use a 5 mm crochet hook to create my beanie.

I started my beanie while I was waiting for my car to get serviced.

I was pleasantly surprised at how fast the beanie worked up. By the time my car was done, I only had to crochet a couple more rows to complete the hat.

Next I began working on the beard. I used this yarn below to create my beard.

I inherited it from my grandmother and I have no idea what you are actually supposed to make from it. I can't find much on the internet about it other than what size crochet hook is needed for it. (Size 5 mm in case you were wondering).

I just liked the way it look and I knew it would create a good color and texture for the beard.

It actually took me longer than I care to admit to create the beard. After restarting the beard a couple of times, I finally got the hang of this yarn and I was able to finish a beard.

Unfortunately I have no pictures of creating the beard.

I do, however, have pictures of attaching the beard to the hat.

The pattern falls short on where exactly to attach the beard to the hat. So I just picked a spot where I though it should go. And kept trying it on Blue until I finely found the perfect spot for the beard.

Now I just need to weave in the ends and get to work on the rest of my hats!

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page