top of page

The Easiest Way to Get Rid of Stains

I've been playing around with different stain removers for a while now. And while I like most of them. For this particular post I want to focus on a particular problem: pit stains.

Aren't they just the worst?

The real fun thing about them is that if you search for the cleaning solution on pinterest. There is pretty much only one answer. So I decided to give it a go and see how well it really gets out pit stains.

The Cleaning Solution

Use a Mixture of Hydrogen Peroxide, Dawn, Baking Soda, and Some Elbox Grease to remove even the toughest stains!

Instructions from One Good Thing by Jillee

Supplies Needed:

Results

So Jillee has this same stain remover listed twice on her website. The first is for removing armpit stains or where ever you get sweat stains. I work in a very hot kitchen, so along with pit stains, I also have a ring around my collar.

Its not the best picture, but as you can see there is definitely a little dirt around the collar and the arm pits (which are not pictured) are definitely darker than the rest of the shirt. (The stripes on the shirt help hide a lot of the pit stains).

So I mixed 50 ml Dawn and 100 ml Hydrogen Peroxide in a measuring cup. And then carefully poured it onto the sweat stains. The weird thing is that even before I sprinkled on the baking soda, parts of the stain started bubbling. I'm not sure what caused this reaction, but it happened only in select spots in each stain.

I didn't dwell on it too long and quickly sprinkled on the baking soda and quickly gave each stain a good scrub. I repeated the process on my blue work shirt.

I then let the two shirts sit, while I started work on the second thing Jillee uses this stain remover on: the any type of stain you can think of. And Lion was more than willing to give the stain remover the ultimate challenge.

You see I bought him this shirt because Lion never seems to stop eating. The problem is that its a white shirt and every time I put it on him, he manages to get as many different stains on it as possible.

So needless to say this is the perfect option to see how good this stain remover is.

The fun thing about using this shirt is that you can see the stain remover actually working.

This is the shirt a couple minutes after I gave it a really good scrub!

You can see that the shirt is slowly returning to white again.

I then let it sit with the other shirts for about an hour. And then I washed and dried as normal.

Here is how everything turned out.

My shirt now looks brand new again. The pit stains are completely wrong and there's no more ring around the collar.

I'm not sure what happened to my lighting between the first shots and the after shots, but the important part is that the stains all over the middle section of the shirt are gone.

And Lion can have another try at destroying this shirt again!

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page