top of page

Making Peanut Butter Cherrio Bars

Before we sink head first into March (which I have dubbed as Make It For Me Month!), I wanted to remake one of my earliest cooking projects. Actually come to think of it, I might have even tried this particular recipe out before I started the blog and I couldn't have found it at a better time. Recently Blue and Lion have been taking bags of Cheerios as snacks for the drive to school. This means my car (and their car seats!) has become a Cheerio graveyard. So I was actually looking for a cheerio bar idea when I found this recipe again and decided to try it again!

The Project

Peanut Butter Cherrio Bars

Supplies Needed:

  • Cheerios

  • Peanut Butter

  • Honey

  • Basic Cooking Supplies

Results

The hardest part of the recipe is definitely getting the peanut butter and honey out of my measuring cups. I found that a spatula worked best and I was able to get most of them both out with out too much extra trouble.

Other than that the recipe is a breeze.

The peanut butter and honey took a little time to melt completely together.

I probably kept it on the heat longer than I should have. (I was just convinced it would keeping getting creamier if I kept it on for a little while longer. Eventually I realized it was as good as it was going to be).

It easily mixed into the cherrios

And then I spread it out over a 9 x 13 sheet pan. (instead of the 8x8 pan used in the recipe.

And that's it!

I put the sheet pan into the fridge to help it set because we live in Florida (and its already hitting the 90s!) and so Blue would leave it alone for a minute to set.

Here is how it turned out:

And I remembered why I didn't ever remake it after the first time. Florida is just too hot for this and by the time we got to school the peanut butter was starting to melt. (Not completely, but my bars were definitely falling apart.) So if I make this again I need to find something with a melting point to help keep everything together. (Because the weather is only going to get hotter as the year goes on!)

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page