top of page

Monday Free Write

Happy Monday All!

This week I told myself I wasn't going to talk about the shooting at Stoneman Douglas High School because after the last two we had, I just realized that nothing is going to change in this country. People will still stubbornly hide behind their 2nd amendment right and send their thoughts and prayers after each shooting. Like that is going to change anything. Actually I think this picture sums it up perfectly.

My plan was to avoid Facebook for the next couple of weeks until all the gun debates were over and I did a fairly good job too, but I couldn't help checking facebook. Most of it was the expected debate about guns, but then there were a few posts that just pissed me off. It was something about how mass shootings weren't an issue 30 years ago and that this generation just wasn't taught the value of life.

All I could think was that these are mass murders are psychopaths and you cannot teach them the value of human life. (Even with therapy, they only become better at deception.) And that got me to thinking that every generation is full of psychopaths. Its just that this particular wave of psychopaths seems to be in it for the one big rush. 30 years ago the mo for most psychopaths for serial killing. They were in it for the long game.

Some how over the past 30 years this has switched (I think the switch over might have been around the time Andrew Cunanan went on his spree killings because shortly after that Columbine happened and well... since Columbine there has been a rise in mass shootings in the US).

So in short, no I don't think the problem is that this generation doesn't value human life less than the others, they just don't have the patience the last generation did for killing people...

which is a completely weird thing to write... let alone think about...

(And as for me, I've joined Moms Demand Action for Gun Control. So hopefully this November we'll finally get some pro NRA congressmen out and put some new congressmen in!)

Related Posts

See All

Monday Free Write

Happy Monday All! Bookkeeping classes are going great! I didn't get through as much as I had planned this week, but I've finally made it to the fun part where I finally get be more hands on and fully

Monday Free Write

Happy Monday All! I just wanted to share that tonight is my last night of vacation... boo!, but I feel like I got a lot done. (Not everything, but most!). Most importantly I am in the middle of my boo

Monday Free Write

Happy Monday All! I don't have much to write about this week. Other than we finally moved Lion into his own room with his own bed a couple weeks ago. And now I can't get him to go to bed at his normal

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page