top of page

Deep Cleaning My Coffee Maker

While I was deep cleaning my white board, I decided it was also time to give my electric kettle a deep clean as well. However I was a little disappointed at how easy it is was (and that I wouldn't be able to write a full blog post about it). All I had to do was add a little citric acid to a half pot of boiling water and it was clean!

While I was looking up how to clean my electric kettle, I actually stumbled across an article on how to properly clean my coffee maker.

The Project

Deep Clean My Coffee Maker

Instructions from Huffington Post

Supplies Needed:

  • Used Coffee Maker

  • Vinegar

  • Optional: Food Dye

Results

I'm a bit of a nut, so I added a little bit of food coloring to m vinegar and water solution. This was I could make sure I rinsed all of it out before I made a pot of coffee. (And because I mixed my vinegar and water together in the well, so I wanted to make sure they mixed together properly.)

I brewed 2 cups of vinegar and 2 cups of water, making sure to shut it off when the pot was halfway through the brew cycle.

and then I let it sit.

Eventually I finished the brew cycle and then brewed a round of water.

As you can see there was still a little food coloring in the next pot. So I brewed one more pot of fresh water. This one was clear. So I knew my bought was thoroughly rinsed.

(And because I'm a nut I repeated the cycle again to really make sure my coffee pot was fully clean)

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page