top of page

Sewing a Sewing Machine Cover

After crocheting and baking my way through December and January, I wanted to switch things up and get back to sewing. (In fact one of my goals for this year is too become a decent seamstress. Not a great one, but good enough that I will actually have confidence in them). Thankfully after a brief pinterest search, I was able to find this fun project, that was both easy enough for me to hand and would also added some color to my sewing desk.

The Project

Sew a Sewing Machine Cover

Instructions from Wag Doll

Supplies Needed:

Results

The worst part of this project is that there is no pattern to go with it, but I guess that makes sense. There are a bunch of different sewing machines and one pattern would definitely not fit all. The good thing is that finding all the measurements is fairly easy.

From my measurements, I made pattern pieces out of cardboard and cut out the fabric pieces I needed. I then covered my sewing machine with the fabric to make sure it would fit right.

Everything looked great, so I went ahead and used the hem tape to hem up my ends. I also cut out the hole for the handle and used the hem tape to secure the excess fabric.

Here is how it turned out:

Its far from perfect. I apparently forgot to leave extra room at the bottom for the hem and its a little snug around the edges, but over all it looks okay. (This is great because I really thought for a while that it was going to be another fail for this year!) And more importantly, I'm already plotting on how to improve on it... once I figure out my color scheme for my sewing desk!

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page