top of page

Softening Up Some Yarn

The weird thing that happened once I started crocheting, I was able to inherit leftover yarn from both my grandmas. (I guess the fun thing about crochet is that it skips a generation or at least it does in my family!). The bad thing about this is that a lot of these skeins are old and really rough! So trying to crochet with them is a bit of a pain and as much as I would love to ditch them and buy better yarn of my own, I love the free yarn. There are a lot of colors that I would necessarily buy myself. And I'm still learning, so I don't feel like my projects need high priced yarn yet.

Luckily while browsing pinerest I stumbled upon a tip for how to soften yarn. I knew instantly this was the solution I was looking for.

The Project

Soften My Yarn Stash

Instructions from Heart Hook Home

Supplies Needed

  • Economy/ Scratchy Yarn

  • Washing Machine

  • Dryer

  • Basic Laundry Supplies

  • Mesh Bag or Nylon Stockings

Results

So the first step in softening yarn is to rough up the skeins. Some of the skeins I was going to soften I had already used, so I skipped the roughing up of those. The skeins I hadn't used yet, however, I gave a thorough roughing up!

I then gathered a whole bunch of skeins that needed to be softened and placed them into a mesh bag.

In hindsight I should have used my smaller mesh bag, but at the time, I didn't feel like finding it. So I just filled my large mesh bag.

Anyway I washed the bag of yarn with my towels.

And when I pulled it out I ended up with a huge mess!

After I detangled the yarn skeins, I learned that the biggest mess was caused by my partial used hot pink skein and my mostly used teal skein.

So I learned to either not try to soften my partial used skeins or that if I try it again to wash them in their own personal nylon sock!

Overall though my yarn seems to be softened, but not that much. So I guess I'll try rewashing my skeins with a smaller load of towels to see if that makes a difference or not!

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page