top of page

Cooking Slow Cooker Chili Mac

I can't believe that winter is almost over! (Well I guess since the ground hog saw his shadow yesterday we are in for more weeks of winter!) And I've barely used my crock pot. I've been so distracted by the making chili in the cast iron skillet, that I forgot the best part of having a crock pot is making chili in it. Thankfully while I was looking for a new recipe to try out this week, I stumbled across a chili mac recipe I pinned a while ago. I knew instantly this was the perfect recipe to try out this week

The Recipe

Slow Cooker Chili Mac

Supplies Needed:

Results

I say this every time, but I love how easy it is to cook with it. All I did was combine all my ingredients into the pot and let the crock pot do all the work for me.

(And if you are following along, for this chili I subbed out the ground beef for ground turkey and the beef broth for chicken broth. I also mix up my chili spice and at first added 1 tsp of cayenne pepper and then later added 1 tsp of chili powder.)

My plan was to cook it on low and let it cook all day... unfortunately I forgot to plug the crock pot in. Luckily I caught it with enough time that I could cook it on high and it would be ready for a late dinner.

When the chili was just about ready I added the macaroni to it. This overfilled my crock pot, so I let Lion take a little plate to try while the rest simmered together.

I was a little worried it was going to be real soupy, but after the pasta simmered in the chili it thickened up a lot.

Once it was ready I added some cheese on top.

And apparently I underestimated how spicy it was because it was definitely on the hot side. It was still really good! So I'll probably modify the amount of I use of each next time, but not by much.

(And if you're wondering if Lion liked it, well here's your answer)

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page