top of page

Sewing A Cat Heating Pad

Before I went off to college, my friends mom gifted me with a ecofriend heating pad. (Its a large orange sack filled with dry corn and beans and every time I need a heating pad, I just have to throw it in the microwave for a couple of minutes to reheat it.)

Over the years the heating pad has been through a lot: one cat thinking it was a scratching and a couple of kids trying get the corn out from the holes. My biggest complaint is that most of the time I use it on my neck and its just too long to bulky to fit on there properly. For a very long time I had an idea in my head of what I wanted the replacement to look like and for a very long time I just couldn't find the right project for it. That was until I was looking through my Pinterest boards and I discovered a cat project that I could easily reuse to make heating pads with!

The Project

Create A Cat Shaped Heating Pad

Idea From By Your Hands

Supplies Needed:

  • Cotton/ Flannel Fabric

  • Basic Sewing Supplies

  • Dry Rice/ Beans

  • Paper and Pens or Paper

  • Embroidery Thread

  • Sequins

Results

At first I was a little disappointed that there wasn't a set pattern to make the cat stuffies, but then I started drawing cats onto paper and I realized that I didn't need pattern. Here is the cat that I came up with:

After I had my cat pattern I cut out two pieces out. I used some leftover snuggle felt from Lyon's crib bumper. (Its white with with orange fish swimming around, which I think it fun to make a cat out of). I, then, stupidly sewed the two sides together.

Afterwards, I realized I needed to give my cat a face. I tried looking over the sample cats, but there really are no instructions for this project. So I was on my own. Luckily I have a bunch of sequins leftover from one of my projects and I simple stitch them into place. (And did my best to give them a proper cat iris!). And to finish up the face, I back stitched on a nose and a smile.

To fill my cat I used a mixture of white navy beans and white rice. (I believe any version of dry bean and rice will work).

Once I was happy with the amount of rice and beans in my cat, I sealed it up with a simple slip stitch.

Here is how my cat turned out:

And it fits perfectly on my neck!

So now I'm prepared for the ext time I throw my next out! (Yay! getting old!)

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page