top of page

Getting Rid of Cat Pee Odor

I don't know how or when it happened, but Tom, our cat, some how ended up in our house and ended up peeing on my Tom's. At first I was just going to throw them out. (Cat pee odor is almost impossible to get rid of completely), but I quickly realized that I could actually use my Tom's to try out some Pinterest ideas of how to get rid of the cat pee odor.

The Project

De-Stink My Toms

Tip from this image

(It also has the supplies needed as well!)

Results

Here they are my very stinky Toms. still in the bag I brought they home in.

I gave them a wash in the washing machine, that did absolutely nothing for the smell. So I quickly mixed up the ingriendents and poured it into two different containers. (Either my Tom's were too big to fit in one container or my containers were too small to fit both Tom's. Either way it worked!)

I don't think you're supposed to soak the item in the solution, but since my Tom's were so stinky, I figured it couldn't hurt.

I let them sit in there for a while. (I'm not really sure how long I let them sit). And then I took them out and attempted to let them dry. However my shoes were too wet to air dry properly, so I threw them in the washing machine. Once the cycle was through I left them on top of my car to dry.

Once they were dry I gave them a smell test. The hint of cat piss was still there, but for the most part you couldn't smell it. I was still a little disheartened, so I just left them alone for a couple of weeks. Eventually they were the only shoes I could find, so I, begrudgingly, wore them. The best part is that they don't smell like cat piss at all anymore! So this really does get the cat piss smell out!

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page