top of page

DIY Hemline Tool

Out of all the different projects I try, I often end up with the same problem. I'm terrible at pressing down fabrics at a specific point. (Often times its for a 1/4 inch hem). I'm just terrible at it and my hemlines often end up uneven at best. I finally decided it was time to figure out a way to even out my hemlines.

I did a quick search on Pinterest and I found a lot of posts for how to hem pants and a one for a bunch of hemline guide sticks. Eventually I was able to find one post on how to make my own hemline tool!

The Project

Create A Hemline Tool

Idea from Show Tell Share

Supplies Needed:

Results

recommends using cardstock for the hemline guide, but I already had an old cardboard envelope, so I decided to use that instead. It took a couple of seconds to dismantle and cut the envelope in half.

I used the half without the overhang and quickly measured out 3 inch stripes along the side.

i couldn't imagine needing a hem longer than 3 inches, so I left it at the that. In the first inch, however, I split into 1/4 inch segments.

Most importantly it works like a charm!

And now I don't have to worry about project hemlines anymore!

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page